Tags

, , ,

IMAG1056

It’s harvest season, and time to begin storing food away for winter like the squirrels!!

Our tomato plants have almost finished producing which my husband and my children are taking very badly, … the tomato family !!tomatoes

We still have zucchini to harvest, although they are completely deformed, perfect for Halloween, but once peeled the taste is still really good. zucchinisI think this is due to those famous insects which I talked about in the post called A Garden Update, Some Handy Tips And A Recipe!. I tried to fight them but they were so numerous that they won the first round but not the battle. Next year, I will organize my garden differently and I should have better control of them !!

We had some beans, beanspeppers, carrots and cucumbers. cucumbersTalking about them, Grey Dove will make a surprise for us using one of them. We’ll tell you all about it in a new post later next month!

Here are some ground cherries ready to be harvested ground cherries on the groundand eaten. ground cherries ready to eat
We can make jam or dry them in a dehydrator. Usually, I keep some of them with my raspberries and freeze them. raspberries ready to go in the freezerThen, in winter we can have some raspberry smoothies and ground cherry muffins.

With my basil, I made some pesto.pesto_basil

I also cut some of my thyme and mint to let them dry until the leaves fall off, then I will use them in my recipes.IMAG1067

I did the same for my lavender! It smells so good and I can put it in my drawers, even in my fleece bags so no moths will come in!lavender

Sunflowers are really giants. and some began to fade.sunflowers in the garden I cut some stems and hang them ( head down) to dry in order to have seeds for birds in winter.drying sunflowers

I’ll be back next month with a new post.

Here are two recipes :

Raspberries smoothie ( this is Fanny’s recipe )
About 500 gr of yogurt ( vanilla or natural or another flavour)
Between 2-3 cups of frozen raspberries

In your blender, put the yogurt and raspberries. Blend until smooth. Pour into glasses and serve.
You can serve with a little bit of honey or maple syrup on the top.
Ground Cherry Muffin recipe
This is a classic recipe to which I add different fruits , ground cherry, raspberries, grated zucchini, etc.. )
Original recipe makes 1 dozen muffins
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup white sugar
1/4 cup oil
1/2 cup milk
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract or orange blossom water (I really like this flavour and put some in every cake I make)
1 1/2 cups ground cherries

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Grease muffin cups or line with paper muffin liners.
2.Combine flour, sugar, baking powder and salt together in a bowl. Mix milk, oil, vanilla and egg together in a separate bowl. Add it to flour mixture; stir until just combined. Fold in ground cherries. Spoon batter into prepared muffin tins.
3. Bake in preheated oven for 25 to 30 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean.

